Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
07 Jul

17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle

Publié par Robin  - Catégories :  #Travel, #Hitchhiking, #Visiting, #Europe

20/05/2014

 

There is a small country named Moldova that I almost forgot ! Hey I cannot pass in the area and not visit the #1 drinking country in the world ! So let's go this way, that's a perfect plan because I can stop on the way in Kamianets-Podilskyi, small town that a lot of people recommended me. Great ! Vamos

It's in the middle of a national park, that sounds interesting

It's in the middle of a national park, that sounds interesting

A thumb up can end up down in mud

Leaving the city is very hard, I wait there a lot of time. Noone stops even though it seems to be the perfect place... except that the bus stop is very close. People might think "hey dude, just take a bus !" and I confess that at some point I was thinking the same... When you're stuck so long and see so many buses going in your direction, your will is strongly tested... But no, I should resist the temptation ! For hitchhiking's sake ! 

 

And I was right because after 1h30 of waiting and a small change of location a car stops for me ! Inside, Bogdan is a friendly potter who is going to his atelier in a small village on the way.

"Hey Robin, would you like to try pottery?"

What? Are you serious??

 

 

 

Not as sexy as in Ghost but that's a good start :)Not as sexy as in Ghost but that's a good start :)
Not as sexy as in Ghost but that's a good start :)Not as sexy as in Ghost but that's a good start :)

Not as sexy as in Ghost but that's a good start :)

Bogdan takes me to his atelier where his brother, the master artisan, is on work. He shows me how he makes bowls in 45s. Wow that's impressive ! This guy is for sure mastering his art. Then I'm invited to try it but believe me that's much harder than it looks ;)

 

They show me their atelier, that's a little family activity just next to the house. They offer me 2 nice handmade cups as gifts, and stop their work to invite me for a big lunch with all the family. Wow I would never have expected this, now I'm very glad that I didn't give up and take a bus. You never know how hitchhiking will turn out :)

That's not a lunch, that's a festin !

That's not a lunch, that's a festin !

After eating Bogdan takes me in car to a good place to continue my way to K-P. I quickly catch another car and head slowly to my destination.

The road is full of promisesThe road is full of promises

The road is full of promises

Exploring the jungle

Juliette knows a couple in K-P who can host me. Well she doesn't know them personaly but she had feedback from other couchsurfers saying that they were nice, so let it be ! Andrey and Vika's live in the small old center, and welcome me with much kindness and careness. I immediately feel comfortable and surrounded by positive and peaceful minds.

Vika & Andrey

Vika & Andrey

Vika is a journalist and has a lot to do with the war that started in the east of the country. Andrey is about to reconvert into a hiking guide for the woody hills around. He invites me to join his team to explore a maybe-future-new way through the forest, and walk in the heights, deep into nature. That sounds nice ! So the next day I join them into a dense forest 20km away from K-P, the idea is to discover and prepare new ways for the tourists. We are literally exploring the forest :)

Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through
Trying to find our way through

Trying to find our way through

The walk is hard because there is absolutely no path here, we have to avoid branches, spines and plants-that-will-remove-your-skin-solar-protection-and-you-will-get-heavily-sunburned. But it's pretty and we manage to join a stream that they know. We walk down the stream and after 20 min we stop. "We'll have a break there".

17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle

They take out of the bags a lot of stuff and start to make a fire, attach ropes around... What is going on here? 

17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle

They are building a tent and put stones in the ash... Oh guys are you preparing a sauna? Right here in the middle of the forest??

Not naked yet, but soon will be hot... and wet...

Not naked yet, but soon will be hot... and wet...

They put natural essences in the water that they pour on the hot stones. Mmmmmh that smells like mum's garden... Then I'm invited to jump into the cold water to refresh myself... kshhhh aaaaw feel good !

Still don't stay too long, it's very cold !

Still don't stay too long, it's very cold !

We repeat this several times, and believe me that makes you feel soooo good and relaxed afterwards. We pack everything and start to walk up to reach the top of the hill where finally the view gets opened and... Wow ! Then we walk down to the river where a guy from the resort on the other side comes to pick us up in a pedalboat, we cross the river at sunset and the light is just... gorgeous.

That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place
That's one very pretty place

That's one very pretty place

What about Kamianets-Podilskyï ?

The next day is also sunny and perfect to visit this little city. It's so small that I have time to have fun with playing music, visit the city center and visit the castle in few hours. Wanna see how it is like? No? Well you don't have the choice :
 

The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it
The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it

The old center is build on a height with a canyon surrounding it

The castle

17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle
17 - How I found myself with naked boys in a lonesome jungle

In the evening I prepare a marvellous tapenade for my hosts before having some rest for my next destination : Moldova ! Better be prepared...

Yep there is something there !

Yep there is something there !

Commenter cet article
A
La ville avec le château me rappelle Luxembourg city. Encore une fois, ton récit était très intéressant.
Répondre
R
C'est exactement la même configuration que Luxembourg, bien vu!

À propos

Robin on tour all over the world